App Basics: Variant and ghost products added after Bundle Purchase
Ghost Product Basics:
When a customer adds the bundle to their cart they will see a unique bundle number attached to their order.
This is added as a variant in your store’s admin, under 'Products' - this allows us to ensure the inventory is synced correctly when someone purchases the bundle.
Variants (and associated bundle numbers) are always assigned, however, the number corresponds to the specific mix of items included in that bundle, so the app knows which contents are inside the bundle.
If you had only one bundle available which contained a fixed mix of products A, B and C and this variant was then created, called #000001, every time a customer adds this same bundle with identical components to the cart, the number assigned would always be #000001.
The key part here is that a new number is added only when a new mix of products is added to the bundle, so if another customer then chose products D, E and F, the bundle would be assigned something like #000002 and this would display every time any other customer chooses this particular mix of items.
Bundle Builder Products Basics:
When the app is initially installed, it automatically creates a new Collection, called 'Bundle Builder Products'.
This Collection is, by default, set to 'unavailable' and therefore doesn't show the bundle products on the front end, unless you are using /collections/all and then all the created/duplicated bundles will show here.
We recommend it is best not to add the product bundles to existing collections so that the duplicates don’t then end up in these collections; however if you have to, we recommend you create an "automatic collection" specifically for your bundles.
Once you've created the automatic collection, you can create a product tag for your bundle products.
You can then add a condition to the collection to only pull in products with this tag - this will act as a filter and will prevent the duplicate bundle products from showing in the collection, as they won't have the tag when duplicated.
The duplicates will still exist, just not in the public-facing collection on the website.
More information on creating automatic collections can be found here:
Hiding or deleting bundle products will mean the cart product link won't work, and a 404 page will be shown instead of redirecting to the bundle page.